DPW construction committee formed | Sippican


MARION – Five members of the general public have been appointed to the Department of Public Works construction committee, which will oversee the construction process for the new facility.

Public members are Andrew Daniel, Dana Nilson, Casey Barros, Dan Crete and Sherman Briggs. Council staff members are: City Administrator Jay McGrail, DPW Director Nathaniel Munafo, DPW Office Manager Becky Tilden, Select Council Member Randy Parker, and Anonymous Highway Staff Member DPW.

A number of residents have expressed interest in serving, McGrail said. The selected committee members represented a variety of backgrounds, he said. He thanked all the candidates for their interest.

No meeting schedule has yet been established for the committee.

The members will oversee the construction of a new facility for the DPW, which will be located on Benson Brook Road.

The new facility will provide cover for the department’s equipment, which is now kept outdoors and subject to wear and tear from the elements. The project also includes a covered area for the city’s salt supply, which is currently exposed and drains into Route 6 and the nearby Evergreen Cemetery.

At last month’s town hall and subsequent municipal elections, voters approved the project, at a cost of $4.456 million. Available cash will cover $1.5 million, including $3 million to borrow.

Although the cost of the project has been approved, the details of the design and construction will be determined by the construction committee.


About Author

Comments are closed.